Press Releases and News

Below are links to relevant AGI press releases and news items related to the Programs and Endowments of the American Geosciences Institute Foundation.

Congratulations to Kristen Mitchell, the 2013-2014 William L. Fisher Congressional Geoscience Fellow for the American Geosciences Institute (AGI). The William L. Fisher Congressional Geoscience Fellowship offers geoscientists the unique opportunity to spend 12 months in Washington, D.C. working as a staff member in the office of a member of Congress or on a congressional committee. Every year, the AGI fellow joins more than two dozen other scientists and engineers for an intensive orientation program on the legislative and executive branches, organized by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), which also guides the placement process and provides educational and collegial programs for the fellows throughout the year.

Tuesday, April 23, 2013 - 0:00 EDT

The American Geosciences Institute (AGI) is pleased to announce its intention to launch a new initiative to address the critical need of increasing geoscience literacy.

Friday, July 6, 2012 - 16:05 EDT

The American Geological Institute Foundation announces Mr. William N. Barkhouse as its new Executive Director.

Wednesday, July 27, 2011 - 16:05 EDT

Many ongoing natural processes and human activities can displace the ground under our homes and communities at considerable economic cost and human suffering. The best solutions to these unstable ground problems are based on awareness of where and how they occur. Living with Unstable Ground, written by Dr. Thomas L. Holzer of the U.S. Geological Survey, explains how soil types, slope movements, catastrophic collapses, and regional ground movement affect communities and how to mitigate these disruptive, dangerous, and costly problems.

Thursday, May 7, 2009 - 0:00 EDT

The American Geological Institute (AGI) and the AGI Foundation are accepting applications for the Edward C. Roy Jr. Award for Excellence in Earth Science Teaching. Given annually, this award recognizes one classroom teacher from kindergarten to eighth grade for his or her leadership and innovation in earth science education.

Wednesday, May 6, 2009 - 0:00 EDT